courthouse.jpgIf you are getting married in Allegheny County this year and need information on getting your marriage license, then you have come to the right place.
Getting started. You will need to apply for your marriage license 2-3 weeks prior to the big wedding day, (although they are valid for 60 days). There is a three day waiting period (Please keep in mind this excludes weekends and holidays) between application and the license being issued.
Allegheny residents applying for a marriage license must BOTH apply in person at theDepartment of Court Records
Wills/Orphans' Court Division
Marriage License Bureau
1st Floor, City-County Building
414 Grant Street Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Their hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm, Wednesday until 7:30 pm, with the exception of holidays. NOTE: No applications will be done after 4:00 pm except on Wednesday.Your priest, pastor, reverend or officiant who is marrying you must file the Marriage Return with the Marriage License Bureau which issued the license, within 10 days of the date of the ceremony. A marriage record will not exist if the officiant who performs the marriage fails to file this document. If you like and upon request, the Marriage License Bureau will inform you whether their marriage return has been filed and recorded.
A photo ID is required along with a completed marriage application. Once completed there is a 3 day waiting period (PA law required) until the license is issued. The license may then be mailed to you (no additional cost) if you wish to avoid another trip downtown. If you wish, either of you or a friend may pick up your license once it is ready.
A marriage license issued in Allegheny County may be used anywhere in the state of Pennsylvania. Likewise a license issued elsewhere in PA may be valid in Allegheny County.
If you were previously married then you must furnish a certified copy of the Decree of Divorce dissolving the marriage. A certified copy of the divorce decree, issued by the courts will contain a seal. If you need a certified copy of a divorce decree, it may be obtained by contacting the Family Division of the Court in which the decree was granted (Civil/Family Division if decree was granted in Allegheny County).
If you are a widow/widower you must provide proof of death of your former spouse. There is an additional $5.00 fee (per decree) added to the standard marriage license.
Both applicants must be 18 years old or older to apply for a license. If you are 16-18 years old then you will need accompanied by the custodial parent/guardian to provide parental consent. Applicants under 16 years of age must have BOTH the written consent of the custodial parent/guardian and the written approval of a judge of the Orphans' Court Division of the Court of Common Pleas.
If your fiance is your brother/sister or are related up to and including first cousins, sorry but you are not permitted to get married, at least not in PA.
As of this posting the fees for marriage licenses are;
The fees for a Marriage License vary from county to county. Allegheny County fees, including Pennsylvania taxes and surcharges, are as follows:
Computer Fee $27.00 Allegheny County Fee 22.50 Pennsylvania Writ Tax .50 Court Technology Fee 5.00 Act 151 Surcharge 10.00 Act 222 Surcharge 10.00 TOTAL $75.00 (CASH ONLY) Additional Fee per Divorce Decree $5.00 (CASH ONLY)
If you wish to have a duplicate marriage license contact the Allegheny County Marriage License Bureau. Certified copies are also available by contacting the county in which they were married.
If you have any questions concerning the application of marriage, you may contact the Marriage License Bureau at (412) 350-4230.
For a copy of the marriage license click http://www.alleghenycounty.us/wo/marriageapp.pdf